top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAkelia Campbell

World Sickle Cell Awareness Day

Updated: Jul 2, 2023


Sickle Cell Anemia is a chronic disease, meaning life long. It feels like a full time job, juggling all my medical obligations along with every day life.


1 year ago I was fresh out of my first shoulder replacement surgery.


2 years ago I was fresh out of a hip decompression surgery.


3 years ago I was sick and in the hospital.


5 years ago, began my first journey as an openly proud advocate for Sickle Cell Disease. As I was in the midst of trying to establish and launch my own foundation, and my first project was to display what a "patient care package" could be for fellow Sickle Cell patients. Luckily I was put in contact within the local provincial foundation and we did just that. The first Sickle Call Patient Care bag was put on full display in the lobby of my local hospital - what a proud moment.


It may be challenging but I know I can achieve anything I put my mind to.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Surgery journey

My biggest complication from having Sickle Cell Anemia is by faaaar ... avascular necrosis arthritis also referred to as osteoarthritis. At age 13 I started started walking with a limp because my leg

Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

Montreal, QC, Canada

©2023 by Sickle Cell Patient Care

bottom of page